Bearkat Volleyball Team Earns Third Consecutive Win

Courtesy: Paul Ridings, Jr., SHSU Sports Information

Thibodaux, La. – Led by Kendall Cleveland and Deveney Wells-Gibson, Sam Houston State took only an hour and 19 minutes to dispatch Nicholls State in three sets and earn its third consecutive Southland Conference volleyball victory Saturday afternoon.

The Bearkats defeated the Colonels 25-6 25-19 25-16 to up SHSU’s season record to 8-9.

The Kats now are 4-2 in league action and have won five of their last seven matches.

Cleveland totaled 10 kills in 28 attempts and Wells-Gibson added nine kills.

Both totaled 11 digs. Setter Tayler Gray assisted on 28 of Sam Houston’s 41 kills and led the Kat defense with 13 digs.

Libero Camille Alfaro was credited with seven digs.

Sam Houston never trailed in the first set, jumping out to an 8-2 lead and winning 17 of the final 21 points.

The Colonels held a 14-11 lead in the second set, but the Kats roared back to take the second frame with a 14-5 run.

The final set was tied 3-3 before SHSU took control to wrap up the match.

The Bearkats return to Bernard G. Johnson Coliseum Thursday to host Stephen F. Austin at 7 p.m.

Sam Houston also will face Northwestern State at 2 p.m. Saturday.

About Cheval John

Cheval John is the Founder and CEO of Vallano Media, LLC, a marketing agency which helps small to mid-sized businesses use social media correctly to build a loyal following and in the process become more profitable.

Cheval is also the host of “What’s The Word?” a podcast about finding out what inspires people to choose their respective careers and how social media impacted their lives and business.

He is the author of two books including the Amazon Best-Seller, “8 Lessons Every Podcaster Needs To Learn.”

He has spoken at Social Media Week Lima in Ohio and at Social Media Day Houston 2017 about topics around live streaming and podcasting.

Cheval has been featured in media outlets like Ebony Magazine and was named a Houston Top 25 Social Media Power Influencer in 2016 and 2017.

We Welcome Your Comments